>I’d Rather Be Flying (IRBF) – Inspriation

>While travelling on holiday last year, I picked up a printed panel of an airport in a shop near Harden NSW. The panel has now inspired a collection of aviation fabrics and notions. I’ve got some initial ideas on how to combine these, but am busy with other projects and deciding on the style I want for this aviation theme quilt “I’d Rather Be Flying”.

You’ll notice in the photos that I have the fabrics pinned to a ‘design wall’. While this sounds fancy, all it is, is some heavy duty cardboard (about 1m x 1.2m) with thin wadding staple-gunned onto it. I’ve added a rod on the back that’s hanging on a couple of picture hooks. It’s a pretty simple, hide-able arrangement. At the moment mine stays on the wall because I have space but it’s previously lived behind desks and only been pulled out when I needed it. I find this a very useful addition to my collection – it’s saved me lots of sewing things together that wouldn’t have ended up looking right. So when you read in a book or magazine or elsewhere on the web about the virtues of a design wall, you’ll know it needn’t be as fancy as it sounds, but that it’s a handy bit of kit to have/make.

I’ll continue musing, but in the meantime you can help me and others who may have purchased these panels by providing us with some inspiration… post a comment or email your ideas on what the quilt could be like or a story you’d like to share. You never know, it might just be the missing link!

BERT
PS: The cockpit instrument panel is a separate printed panel I picked up somewhere else – it just aligns nicely with the runway on the airport panel.
About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in aviation, bert, bert collections, design, design wall, helicopter, I'd rather be flying, IRBF, plane, printed panel, quilt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >I’d Rather Be Flying (IRBF) – Inspriation

  1. Anonymous says:

    >That’s really clever – combining the instrument panel and the runway… cool!mb

  2. em says:

    >It's not just George who wants some attention – I'm really looking forward to watching this one grow into a king sized quilt… or maybe just a quilt that's getting attention!

  3. Pingback: Quilting meets flying? | bertcollections

  4. Pingback: Quilting meets flying? | bertcollections

  5. SM says:

    The fabrics are great! I wish I had found these for my project.

Leave a Reply

