Shows – Best of the Australasian Quilt Convention

 
Sandstorm Over the White Desert by Jenny Bowker

I finally made it to the Australiasian Quilt Convention (AQC) last week with Sconquester. I’ve tried to go for the last couple of years and been too busy with work, too late to organise but not so in 2011!

Travelling with Sconquester meant that while our aim was to get to the Convention and the Tutankahmun exhibition in our 3 day visit – we were so busy eating good food I began to worry I’d never get to the convention. If you want to know about the food you can check out Sconquester’s blog entries, especially this one http://sconquest.com/2011/04/22/melbourne-hotel-windsor-ancient-egyptian-high-tea/).

So, I finally got to the quilt convention on Sunday and I was pleased that I went to see the standard of work and the variety of ideas and techniques that are being applied and developed. It’s amazing that a craft that started as using scraps to make blankets can become such an art, and yet anyone with a sewing machine or a needle and thread can have a go at it and do it their own way.

There was exhibits by several artists I’d seen before at other exhibitions and I was particularly impressed with some of the work from around the rest of Australasia from artists who were new to me. So while you can view the winners list at PunchwithJudy’s blog, I’ve put a slideshow of my favourite on my website here https://sites.google.com/site/bertcollections/be-inspired . But I have to say that Ruth de Vos’ quilts were the stand-out winners for me.  

Ruth’s quilts demonstrate fabulous designs, ingenious and meticulous quilting combined with a great balancing of realism and stylisation. To see more of Ruth’s beautiful artwork, check the photo gallery on her website at http://ruthdevos.com/#/page/6a70/eucalypts-in-focus/.

More to come from the AQC when I’ve had another look at the photos…

Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Quilt Shows and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shows – Best of the Australasian Quilt Convention

  1. markbosma says:

    Glad you managed to make it to the exhibition – with so many eating places in Melbourne and all.

  2. Pingback: Melbourne, Vic. Australasian Quilt Convention. | Sconquest.

  3. Ruth says:

    Hi Bert,
    I’m glad you enjoyed my quilts – thanks for sharing. My husband and I also enjoyed the good food Melbourne had to offer during our 3 day stay!

Leave a Reply

