PK2 – Mariner’s Compass Experiment

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve decided to get adventurous and try a Mariner’s Compass block in the corner of the border on the Pirate King quilt so rather than risk wasting my precious fabrics I’ve bought for this quilt I’ve started a crash-test block from bits from my scrap stash… So what I’ve learned so far is:

  • accurate drawing and cutting is really important;
  • my rotor cutter cuts through template plastic (which I think I knew but had forgotten);
  • therefore, if I was making lots of these blocks I’d buy the perspex template kit, but I’m persevering with my homemade templates for the moment;
  • you can get surprisingly good matches on somewhat random fabrics from the scrap stash.
  • boy am I glad I did a test block first as there’s some tricks to getting the block right, but it’s exciting when it works.

In today’s photo collection you’ll find the style of the block, the cut pieces and my progress on piecing so far. The cutting took me a while yesterday but the piecing so far only took about half an hour but I got to the tricky sewing and decided to give it up until next time. I didn’t get quite as far today as I decided seeing it was a lovely day outside so a drive and a bit of gardening was needed – I planted some seedlings so hopefully we’ll have homegrown lettuces through winter and have oiled a new bench for the front yard. So industrious :-D.

Off to make falafel for dinner now. 

Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert collections, bertcollections, block, Mariner's Compass, Pirate King, PK, quilt top and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

