T4T7 – Freezer Paper Frenzy

Freezer Paper Tea PotI’ve used the little time available for sewing this and last weekend test one of the more complicated teapot patterns with the freezerpaper technique (which I’ve decided is the preferred applique method for this quilt). And while I was a bit trepidatious about how this would work out, I have to say I’m very pleased with the results. I’m also taking lots of photos as I go so that I can write a blurb for the website about the freezer paper technique as I’ve found a lot of people say well ‘just freezer paper it’ as if you are supposed to automatically know what that is.

So while I haven’t finished writing the page yet, I thought I’d give you a sample of the progress with the slide show linked at the end of the post. The freeer paper process is essentially trace the shape onto the freezer paper, cut it out of the paper,  iron it on shiny side down to the wrong side of the fabric, cut it out with an extra ¼” around it, snip the ‘seam allowance’, put some glue on, roll the edge over and stick it down, and just keep repeating. You’ll see from the slide show that once you get into the groove of it, its more straightforward. Anyway, enjoy the slide show, have a bit of a giggle and more news in the next few days….

Bert.

Applique with Freezer Paper

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in applique, bert collections, bertcollections, freezer paper, T4T, tea pot, teapot, template, Time for Tea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

