QFO 2 – Quilting again and thanks to Deb Louie

Right now, before I do anything else, I’d like to say thanks to Deb Louie for making quilting do-able.

I used to fret for hours, days and months over how to quilt my precious quilt tops, and after doing Deb’s course and having a bit more practice that’s no longer the problem. Why? Because I no longer wait until I have the perfect quilting design to start quilting. I just get started on the stabilising quilting and I know that by the time I’ve finished that I should have a pretty good idea how I want to do the fancy quilting.

How is this relevant? I had a relaxing couple of hours this afternoon quilting a QFO project this afternoon largely because I could just start quilting without worrying about it.

It was also reeeeeeeally nice to be back at the sewing machine after a couple of mad months driven by some Lean Six Sigma training I’ve recently completed (which was useful and fun but sucked all my spare time).

What made today even better was that I had a gorgeous QFO quilt from Canberra Quilters to start quilting. This QFO is a fabulous tesselation of flowers which I find it hard to believe the person who cut all the pieces out could bare to part with it, but I’m thankful they will share it with me and whoever ends up with the quilt

… …

The other thing I wanted to mention today is how quilting is like sculpture…

The two pictures to the left here show different parts of the tesselating flowers quilt – the one with pink flowers has some quilting, while the one with cream flowers does not have quilting. Notice how the quilted one has more texture? It becomes more interesting purely because it gives the quilt depth, or makes it 3D instead of 2D. Cool hey? So next time you’re quilting or looking at someone else’s quilt, remember to appreciate the careful sculpting that has gone into the quilting, as well as the meticulous design and piecing.

Happy sewing,

Bert

PS: If you’re curious about tesselations, there’s an explanation on wikipedia here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tessellation and there’s some fabulous examples from the world of architecture here http://fiveprime.org/hivemind/Tags/mosque,tessellation/Interesting.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert, bert collections, bertcollections, deb louie, QFO, quilt for others, quilting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to QFO 2 – Quilting again and thanks to Deb Louie

  1. markbosma says:

    Wow, nicely done flowers – very clever.

Leave a Reply

