WF2 – Foundation piecing without the foundation?

I joined in my local quilt group gathering this afternoon and surprisingly, I got this whole section cut and pieced in about 3 hours. I don’t think I’ve done anything that quickly before, especially with a quilt that I’m designing from scratch!

So while I’m feeling rather pleased with myself, I suppose I should show you what it looks like so far.

My speediness today was partly possible because I did some initial design work last week, although I did change my gameplan for constructing this foreground section because I decided I wanted it to look more irregular, which also turned out to be easier to cut.

I ended up constructing this by cutting straight strips but joining them on an angle to create a random-ish effect. I started to cut angled pieces and it was a bit hard on my small portable cutting board and seemed a bit too fiddly so I just cut the straight strips and sewed the seams by putting the upper piece on an angle relative to the previous piece, and sewing the ¼” seam relative to the edge of the upper piece.

I’ve called this post foundation piecing without the foundation because one of my fellow quilters asked me this afternoon if I was doing foundation piecing and I had to respond “Well, yes, but without the foundation”. How this technique works is you just keep adding pieces at whatever angle you like, opening out the seam and then sewing the next piece on with right sides together although at an angle. While it looks a bit chaotic on the back, the cutting and sewing is very regular its just the angle of the top piece of fabric that changes. Nifty.

Anyway, it was a pleasant afternoon chatting with my new-found friends and pulling bits of fabric together with whatever looked best next. Who knew that piecing could be this free-form, easy and fun – not me until today. If you haven’t tried this technique yet then give it a go, it’s a great way to use leftover strips or those fabrics lurking in the depths of your stash.

Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert, bert collections, Bert Quilts, bertcollections, Competitions, free form piecing, modern quilting, pieceing, piecing, quilting, Uncategorized, Under 35s 2012, WF, WILD Flowers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WF2 – Foundation piecing without the foundation?

  1. Pingback: Five Point Star with Foundation Piecing « Diannajessie

Leave a Reply

