I am off to the Canberra Quilt Exhibition soon but am already inspired by some of these pieces from IQF.

Stay tuned for photos from the Canberra Exhibition…

Bert

Quilt Skipper

Today I’m sharing the rest of the photos of my quilt tour at IQF-Long Beach: “Tidal Pool-After the Storm” by Holly S. Altman was so intriguing. Holly used a variety of techniques to achieve this interpretation of a tide pool. Holly was a Marine Biology student (can you tell?) and she tried to portray the fragility of the tidal pool in her work. This was included in the “West Coast Wonders” section. I took many detailed shots-I could have spent an hour with this one and still found new detail. Also in “West Coast Wonders”, “Lombard Street” by Susan R. Lane (California) was gorgeous in person. She based the quilt on a professional photograph that her husband saw. He remarked-“This is what you should do next!”-and she did! “Tiny Town” by Karen Eckmeier is a mini quilt. She challenged herself to see how small she could go-look at all the exquisite detail…

View original post 386 more words

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

