20120814 – Inspiration from the Canberra Quilters Exhibition

I finished work early on Friday and had a lovely lunch and afternoon perusing the Canberra Quilters Exhibition with my friend N. While in previous years I’ve just done a general post and some pictures about the exhibition, this year I decided I’d put a bit more thought into it so over the coming weeks you’ll see a small selection of posts discussing the finer points of  particular quilts, the trends, techniques and observations.

Today I’m starting by posting a slideshow that walks you through the quilts I liked in the exhibition. This means there were at least twice this many but these were the ones that got my attention. It was interesting to see which quilts spoke to my friend and which reeled me in for a closer look, some of the same, some different and had N not been there I would have missed some of the detail in some of the ones that didn’t initially grab me.

So follow the link, have a look at the photos, and see what grabs you. The photos are in the order I took them so it’s worth trawling through the whole thing as there are many styles, sizes and ages represented and you never know what treasure you might find.

Enjoy the eye candy 🙂

Bert

PS: And thanks to onethousandlayers.wordpress.com for the reminder to do something pretty with the photos that got me motivated to do a proper slideshow for this one. Free form piecing story coming soon to.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert, bert collections, Bert Quilts, bertcollections, Canberra Quilters Exhibition, Quilt Shows. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 20120814 – Inspiration from the Canberra Quilters Exhibition

  1. Sartenada says:

    Very beautiful quilts. It is always interesting to see quilts and patchworks from other countries.

    Here are my posts from Finnish quilts:

    Finnish quilts

    Happy quilting!

    • Thanks! Those are great. Really interesting some of the landscapes are similar to those I’d see at home in Australia and others are so foreign to me. Definitely each has its local style but some commonalities as well.

  2. Thanks for this beautiful slide show!
    Also, thanks for stopping by my blog the other day. There is such a wealth of inspiration on your blog! Looking at your list of posts gives me the same anticipation I feel when I sit down with a stack of books on a rainy day. I am looking forward to reading it all!

  3. What a wonderful slide show and such amazing quilts. Thank you so much for sharing! 🙂

  4. Excellent slides how – well done. I particularly liked Rainbow Connection, Japanese Garden Path, Escaping Butterflies and the red wine on charcoal in the Red + One series. Thanks for putting it together.

  5. Pingback: Lessons on quilting from the Canberra Quilters | bertcollections

  6. Cheryl says:

    Hi Bert
    Thank you for the slide show. It is really interesting to see what others are doing to evolve the quilting world of art. It is just amazing to see the intricate designs and pattern work! Love it!

  7. Thank you for reading my blog. I love quilting, sewing and just plain fabric. There is art in the fabric itself to me. I look forward to reading your blog and will visit frequently. Once i’m in my own place, who knows what wonderous projects will be produced. Your quilts are inspiring!

  8. Pingback: Color Play Blocks « Deep in the Heart of Textiles

Leave a Reply

