WF3– Free Form Piecing in Theory

.

My notes that I emailed to myself at a demo of free form piecing said this:

1. First fabric
2. Slice the curve
3. Place second fabric under and cut to match the curve
4. Cut the next curve just on the second piece
5. Repeat
6. Sew seams in same order as cut the pieces
7. Enjoy.

Miraculously this turned into a quilt background! More coming on how…hmmm…

Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert collections, free form piecing, quilting, WILD Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WF3– Free Form Piecing in Theory

  1. vivjm says:

    This looks great!

  2. ruthiequilts says:

    This is looking fabulous!!! I love free form piecing, although it’s been something I don’t do a lot of… Wonderful blog!

    • Thanks Ruthie. I am surprised how easy this is to do as well as getting a good effect.

      BTW thanks everyone for the comments on this one you are keeping me motivated to get it finished and into the competition when my determination has wavered during the week.

Leave a Reply

