BAWARAO 3 – When in Doubt Don’t

Catching up on last week’s posts…Last Saturday was an odd day. I felt like I had a hangover even though I’d only had one beer and my body and brain could not quite get in sync. Following a leisurely breakfast and a ‘walking of the fence line’ (getting some sunshine by checking the rabbits hadn’t been digging under the fences), I finally got around to getting some quilting done.

Having finished WILD Flowers, I am trying to get BAWARAO finished for the local quilt exhibition. This means it has to be submitted on 20 October so I need to get a wriggle-on to get the piecing finished. Having finished fixing the triangles last week, I joined them into flying geese sets, and then joined those into groups of three. The point is coming here…

To complete each side of the border I needed two groups of three triangles, and a centre triangle of a different size. Off I went with my ruler, pencil and scrap paper to figure out the dimensions of the pieces I needed for the centre section. I measured the length of the sides of the quilt top, measured the triangle groups, drew my centre triangles, added the seam allowance and went to cut them.

And I didn’t cut anything.

I stopped.

I wasn’t feeling very good. I probably wasn’t in the right frame of mind to do this.

I left the cutting until Sunday. And boy was I glad I did. I checked my measurements and yes, the pieces would have been too small and I would have had to recut them. Which would have meant I did not have enough fabric for the next border, and I really would have had a problem.

So today’s lesson folks, in case you were wondering is: when in doubt don’t. If you don’t seem right, or you are not sure, just stop. It’s probably not the end of the world if it waits another day. I might not get this quilt done for the show, but I will get it done. Phew!

Wishing you quiet and calm stitching.

Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to BAWARAO 3 – When in Doubt Don’t

  1. Debbie says:

    Boy can I relate to this. Good Advise.

  2. jgp60 says:

    Your advice probably applies to a lot of things in life! I like the quilt design and colours. Hope you do get it finished in time. 🙂

    • Funny actually. “When in doubt don’t” is something I imagine in my Dad’s serious voice and yes, applied to all sorts of things.

      It looks like BAWARAO won’t be done in time for the exhibition, I will get G2D done instead. I decided I would rather finish it properly than hurry and be unhappy with the result.

  3. Lani Longshore says:

    Definitely good advice! I bought a shirt for my husband – The Woodworkers mantra: Measure twice, cut once, pound into place anyway.

  4. Pingback: BAWARAO4 – Over the Triangles | bertcollections

Leave a Reply

