Quilting and Eating in Style?

A little diversion into the culinary world today with a textile twist. I went of to the ‘How Does Your Garden Grow’ exhibition a couple of weeks ago and had a lovely time absorbing the different styles and designs of the quilts with my Mum. It was a Sunday, a lovely sparkly Sydney spring day so not in a hurry to go home, we head off in search of a café/bakery to have ‘a little something’ in Winne-the-Pooh-style.

With the trusty help of my phone, we found where the bakery was, walked around there, had a look and found all they had left was cakes too gooey for our tastes so we wandered down the street to another café. It was a cute café, with mosaic tables and a stunning cake cabinet (I do suffer from lack of a decent cake shop within 100km, except for my fortnightly fingerbun indulgence at our local markets). Mum and I like food and cakes and photos, so set about talking photos of the cake cabinet which was beautifully presented. We took a couple of photos and were clearly enjoying ourselves too much as the matron who seemed to own the café appeared in a huff at our table and instructed us that we were “not allowed to take pictures of my cake cabinet”. I guess there was top-secret recipes in there I hadn’t noticed, or maybe a coded message we might figure out. Clearly we had stumbled on something more than a pretty cake cabinet.

Our coffee and cake eventually came and while it was nice enough, the encounter with the cake cabinet sentry left a sour taste in our mouths a bit like when there’s too much baking power in the scones. I’m sure the cake sentry must have thought we were stealing her secret recipes, but I hope she was more cheerful with her other customers.

It was a good day for a drive so we soon got our groove back and moseyed back through the ‘burbs and homewards. A fun day, with some unexpected adventures – you never know what you are going to get when you take a ride to a quilt show.

Happy munching and stitching,
Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in How Does Your Garden Grow 2012, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quilting and Eating in Style?

  1. jotokla says:

    Obviously the cake police know no boundaries – we have them sprinkled here and there on this side of the globe as well. I enjoyed your post, and thanks for stopping in over at mine. Now I have to see if I have the makings for a batch of brownies – funny, I’ve got an inexplicable yen for sweets.

  2. Anne Bonney says:

    I,too, love the chrome and glass of diner displays. And a cake on a pedestal must be a fine cake indeed. This is probably why I own three glass cake domes on pedestals. Shame on the cafe lady. I am glad you had a good time inspite of her.

Leave a Reply

