GG2 – Happy Hexagons

20121028-151622.jpg
I’m finding that despite being a busy person I am finding time for hexagons here and there. It seems that my answer to “I have to wait for…”, or “I don’t feel like doing much” is becoming “I’ll do a few hexagons then”.

This project started by accident when I found myself cornered into doing hand stitching but seems to be getting some momentum of its own. I am now wondering how I’m going to get the flowers joined together without going mad – maybe you quilt these as you go???

Despite having had the flu over the weekend (again, doh!) I’ve got some flowers together which combined with the gorgeous spring days made me a happy anyway.

I’m also trying to extend my vocabulary with some new words but was having some difficulty thinking of a title for today’s blog. I’m aiming for some alliteration hence the happy hexagons. I just thought of ‘hooked on hexagons’ – what other hex-y titles can you think of??

Off to make some lunch and get some sunshine,

Bert

Today’s Granny Index Results

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in GG, Granny's Garden, Hand Piecing, Hexagons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GG2 – Happy Hexagons

  1. debmoyes says:

    What size are they? I do the very tiny hexes in the EPP technique and I don’t quilt them. I applique’ them onto a backing and I might sew a bead or one stitch in some middles. They are great fun and you do get a lot done when waiting or on vacation! ;-D

    • Hi Deb,

      These hexagons are 1″ sides so they need a descent size scrap to work with.

      I hadn’t thought of appliqué with the hexagons – I might try that if I run into hand-sewers block.

      I’m now planning a holiday on a train for a couple of days so trying to figure out how many hexagons I need to plan to take with me 🙂

      Happy holidays.
      Bert

  2. Laura C says:

    Oh my. A Grandmother’s Flower Garden quilt is on my bucket list. (It’s a LONG bucket list, too. 🙂 ) You have some pretty flowers to start with! Did you buy your papers online, or in a LQS? I’m looking to buy some and get in on the hexie game, but am not entirely sure where to start.

    • I got my papers on eBay, 100 for a couple of dollars makes it hardly worth the effort of cutting them out. I cannot remember which seller it was other than it was one that included instructions as well.

      I use a dob of glue-stick glue to hold the paper to the fabric which seems to save lots of fiddling around.

      Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

