BAWARAO5 – A near miss

20121124-140404.jpg
Phew!
That was nearly a balls-up….What is the right sort of mistake to make? The one you spot before it becomes permanent 😉

I wanted to pin the layers of BAWARAO together today. So off i went and I taped the backing to the floor, put the batting on top and then tried to align to quilt top so the join in the back would be in the centre. That was fine until I discovered that the backing only left 1/2 an inch extra around the width of the quilt. Hmmmmm. Tempting to keep going but I am pretty sure that will become a problem later especially as I will probably do plenty of quilting after following Judy’s inspiring suggestion on an earlier post.

After a bit of wishful thinking I decided to add another piece to the backing. Soooo, off came all the layers and the tape temporarily redecorated my window. Needless to say while the rework is mildly annoying I am proud of myself for deciding to do it right and very glad that I checked twice and cut/sewed once.

Happy sewing
Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bawarao, bert collections, Black and White and Red All Over, modern quilting, quilt sandwich and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BAWARAO5 – A near miss

  1. Judy says:

    Good advice – check twice and cut/sew once. Sounds like what my DH always says about his woodworking!

Leave a Reply

