Oldie but a Goodie?

20121127-192017.jpg

Just for fun, I entered a couple of quilts in the inaugural Yass Hanging of the Quilts a couple of weeks ago. On further reflection I decided I’d post the story of the ‘Carole’s Apron’ quilt because while the quilt is a few years old now, I suspect my friend Carole doesn’t know its story yet. So here goes.

Carole and I were friends and neighbours a few years and houses ago and when she decided to move, I decided she needed a present. For some unknown or long forgotten reason I concluded that an apron would be a good gift for Carole. Off I went to the local fabric store, near Carrefoure in Kuala Lumpur to get some fabric. What leapt out off the shelf at me (figuratively speaking) was some cheery Japanese style cotton prints in matching colour ways.

20121127-192317.jpgSatisfied with my purchase I came home, made Carole’s apron and gave it to her as a gift…and where does the quilt come in? I had lots of fabric left over after making the apron because I’d bought extra in case I changed my mind on what fabric to use in which part of the pattern. Well I certainly couldn’t let that good fabric rot in the cupboard. Then shortly after I had moved too, out came the fabric, travelled to a ‘triangles with rulers’ class and voila became a quilt.

So there you go. What started as a simple little project grew to something larger and even though this is a very simple quilt from early in my foray into quilting, I still like it. One day I’ll get around to putting some more fancy quilting on it but until then it’s elegant in its simplicity.

Carole, thanks for the inspiration – who knows what might be next 😉

Your friend in stitching,

Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert collections, bertcollections, quilt, Quilt Shows, quilting, Yass Hanging of the Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oldie but a Goodie?

  1. Gardengirl says:

    Every quilt should have a good story like that behind it!

Leave a Reply

