Xmas 1 – Beginning with Boxes

20121128-221139.jpg
Inspired by a post from I Finally Have Time and a pattern from www.acuppaandacatchup.com I started my Christmas sewing last weekend. The nested fabric bowls looked like a nice easy way to use some existing fabric, a very good reason to buy some fabric for specific people and a bit of easy festive fun.

Armed with my pattern and a cup of tea I set of to cut and sew and trim and finish my first bowl (in black with white poinsettias fabric). I have to admit the first one probably took me around four hours to make. It looked simple and was, which means I must have been procrastinating. With more familiarity with the pattern, The second bowl only took me two hours to make.

I just love the rich, warm, stylishness of the red box though (if I say so myself:-P).
20121128-221147.jpg

I’m now waiting with bated breath for my parcel from America with the fabric I ordered. I need to sew all weekend to get the rest of the bowl collection made in time for our family Christmas do.

Ah well, nothing like a deadline to focus the attention….or alternatively there’s that great line in the Julie and Julia movie… “I love the sound of a deadline as it goes wooooshing past”.

Happy holidays everyone.

B

PS: This is a good pattern with clear instructions and lots of options and sizes for you to mix and match with.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert collections, Christmas, quilt, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Xmas 1 – Beginning with Boxes

  1. Gardengirl says:

    I love fabric baskets and am going to be making a couple myself for the first time. You did a great job with yours! The colors of both are beautiful… and so is the quilt underneath! Happy Procrastinating! 😉

  2. markbosma says:

    Did you finish your tea?

Leave a Reply

