GG Updates and A Question for You?

Here’s the tally of hexagons for my Granny’s Garden Project…what it doesn’t tell you is how many more seams need to be sewn to finish the quilt.

201222GGupdate

Today I guesstimated today that joining all the flowers will take about 1350 little seams. This is when I decided I needed to find a quilt-as-you-go method. If I sew all the flowers and then intend to sew them all together in one batch guess what will happen…Nothing. They’ll sit in a box until one day someone tidying up my estate finds them and chucks them out or sends them to Vinnies. This doesn’t sound like a very good result. I also don’t want to stop sewing the hexagons as its fun in its own special way.

I can finish about 14 hexagons or joining 1-2 flowers in about an hour which is very handy. There’s something satisfying about being able to reach a milestone in an hour which most of my other projects just don’t do.

So this leaves me with a question – how can I best quilt-as-you-go my granny’s garden flowers? I’m trying to find a way I can QAYG one flower at a time, as that’ll be easy to travel with. I’ve found some QAYG individual hexagons on websites, but it’s too late for that now as I’ve got 190 hexagons and 22 flowers, and anyway I like the look of the whole flowers. They are neat but interesting in their own way. Suggestions anyone?

I’ll keep pondering my options in the meantime and now it’s time to find a cool cider to finish of the day with.

Cheers,

Bert

PS: Pictures of the current GG flower collection coming soon.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert collections, GG, Granny's Garden, Hexagons, Quilt As You Go, quilt sandwich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to GG Updates and A Question for You?

  1. ruthiequilts says:

    Sorry, I haven’t got a clue… Hexies are hard to figure out how to quilt in general, let alone as you go… Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

