Gone scrapping?

Lucie is doing some good scrappy work and yes I’m scrapping too.

I’ve spent some time today doing more hexagons for my Granny’s Garden quilt which I’m only making from scraps. Trouble is I’ve nearly used all the ones big enough, so I had to start a selvedge/strip scrap quilt as well. Looks like I need to finish more quilts, so I have more scraps, to do some more scrappy work.

Oh, the other use for my scraps is I’m collecting the teeny-tiny off cuts (e.g. the triangles left from cutting a hexagon from a square), storing them in bags by colour to do some fabric-painting with them at a later date.

I still have a box full of yet-to-be usable bits that are too small for the hexagons or strips and too big to chop into pieces for the fabric painting. Any ideas for these folks?

Bert

Lucie The Happy Quilter's Blog

It’s been a day like any other in Happy Longarm Quilter Land. After the morning routine I flashed up the longarm quilting system to start quilting the Lively Logs Quilt. What a great time I had. This little scrappy quilt stitched out beautifully. I used the Amorphous quilting design by Lorien Quilting and a rust colour 100% cotton thread. The quilting system just kept on going until it ran out of quilt to quilt. I have buried all the thread ends that needed burying. I have machined the binding and now all that’s left to do is hand finish it on the back. Later I will add a label. I am posting this photo but as the light wasn’t great it doesn’t do the quilt justice. It’s much nicer up close and in person. The next time the sun comes out to play I will have another attempt at taking…

View original post 379 more words

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

