QFO4 – Quilting Guide – Gone Crazy with Stars

20130120-123842.jpgI promised Maribeth that I would draw up a quilting guide for stars, and you’ll now find it on my website. It is somewhat unexpected why it is a bit later than planned. But here is the guide and its story nonetheless.

After having lots of fun setting up my new quilting frame just before Christmas, I quickly started getting some practice in. My first project is a QFO that I’ve had for a couple of months that needs quilting. This is a quilt for a local charity called ‘Canteen’ which helps young people with cancer and it’s made partially from leftover bandannas from their annual fundraiser. Given it is pink and black with hearts and maple leaves on the fabric, I decided to quilt stars in black thread to make it kind of funky while still matching the maple leaf shapes.

After posting some pics, I agreed to put a quilting guide/design together as Maribeth was interested in doing something similar. The guide is a bit late and the latest QFO quilt is still WIP for two reasons. Firstly a bushfire threatened our house over the last week or so which was a serious distraction; and second, I had an argument with my sewing machine when I did get over the fire risk and start sewing. Hopefully Matilda and I will be on speaking terms again this weekend and I will get the quilting finished and have some photos to post.

Finally to Maribeth, I hope the guide helps with the quilt you want to put stars on.

Cheers,

Bert

PS: Off to book club to discuss ‘Cloud Atlas’ by David Mitchell this evening – check it out on my Bert Collections pinterest board.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to QFO4 – Quilting Guide – Gone Crazy with Stars

  1. Maribeth says:

    Thanks so much Bert!!! I can’t wait to try it!! I am glad to hear everything is ok. I’ll get working on my quilt and post pictures soon!!

    take care!

  2. Elisabeth says:

    Oh my, bushfire sounds dangerous. I hope you are safe and sound.

    • Thanks Elisabeth. The fire is under control now so we are keeping an eye on it but hopefully some rain this week will help as well. The sewing machine was the only thing I considered taking with me if we had to evacuate – along with my significant other of course 🙂

  3. Hello! I’ve really enjoyed looking through your blog, so I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. See my block for more details! http://basildonkitchens.wordpress.com/2013/01/25/liebster-award/

    Connie 🙂

  4. Pingback: QFO5 – Schmooze it, shoot it or fix it? My new sewing machine solver… | bertcollections

  5. Pingback: Getting Started with a Quilting Frame | bertcollections

Leave a Reply

