QFO5 – Schmooze it, shoot it or fix it? My new sewing machine solver…

20130120-124547.jpg

I finished quilting the Razamatazz QFO quilt last weekend – sounds easy right? I got to experiment with my new quilting frame until – disaster strikes – the sewing machine loses it!…The tension goes haywire… the stitches are fine on the top and a mess underneath. I struggle in vain to adjust the tension and keep stitching until…there is is nothing else for it. I stop. I turn off the sewing machine. Remove it from the frame and take it into the corner to teach it a lesson.

Well, the upside of that rather frustrating episode is that as I tried to sort out what was going wrong, I took notes and turned it into a sewing machine trouble-shooting guide that you can now find on the bertcollections website. Now you can schmooze your machine back to stitching contentedly, or decide to fix it, or worse…Hopefully this will make it quicker and easier for you to go through this problem solving to get your sewing machine working again when this happens to you.

Luckily my machine does not do this very often, but it is annoying when it happens. At least next time, I’ll be better prepared and just wizz through the trouble shooting guide rather than spending hours trying to sort it out. I guess that means that something good come from this episode 🙂

Cheers,

Bert.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bertcollections, QFO, quilt for others, quilting, sewing machine trouble and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to QFO5 – Schmooze it, shoot it or fix it? My new sewing machine solver…

  1. Gardengirl says:

    My machine does that all the time! It is why I have put off so much quilting. It works fine while I’m sewing….usually….but randomly decides it has had enough and goes haywire. Very frustrating. I will have to look at your guide to see what I can do to fix it. Thanks! 🙂

    • Hope the easy fixes work so you do not have to send it off to be fixed. This time on my machine it seemed to be that the needle getting blunt which had not been the cause previously. Good luck.

  2. ruthiequilts says:

    Glad you figured it out! Mine behaves as long as I leave it at home… She doesn’t like to go out!

  3. Pingback: PP6 – How to Get Ready to Quilt | bertcollections

  4. Pingback: Getting Started with a Quilting Frame | bertcollections

Leave a Reply

