Liebster 2 QnA Games – did you also wonder about…

Berts First Solo QuiltFor your general amusement and interest, here’s my responses to Basildonkitchens’ questions that go with the nomination for the Liebster award…regular readers will recall that both Elisabeth and Basildonkitchens nominated bertcollections for the Liebster award in the last couple of weeks BUT… a pop quiz for you first though – who can guess what the photo at the start of this post is? Add your guess as a comment below.

And now, without further ado, to the Basildonkitchens questions Batman…

Q1. What inspired you to start your blog? A: It seemed like a waste to learn new things about quilting and not share them with anyone else – so I tried blogging about what I learned and I’m still going.

Q2. How did you come up with your name? A: The name is actually from the lady who owned the local laundromat a couple of years ago, she would always misspell my name as Bert and it kind of stuck as a nick name. When I started a blog it seemed the natural starting point.

 

Q3. What is the best advise you have received? A: Under-promise and over-deliver.

Q4. What is your happiest memory from childhood? A: Sitting around the kitchen table with my family and friends, eating, drinking and playing games.

Q5. What did you want to be when you grew up? A: The earliest aspiration I can remember is when I was in about second grade, wanting to be a policewoman. By the time I was a teenager I had no idea 🙂

Q6. What other crafts or hobbies to you participate in? A: As well as quilting, I like to play with food (ie not any cooking, but when it is fun), garden, read, woodwork, music…as much as I can fit in.

Q7. What is your favourite book? Based on the number of people I have given the book to – A House at Pooh Corner by A. A. Milne. Coincidentally I have bought this for several friends when they have had their first child.

Q8. What is your ideal way to spend a weekend? A: Hmmm. Active weekend, camping, bushwalking and/or flying. Lazy weekend – at a B&B or cabin with some good company, good food, a fire and a comfy couch. Normal weekend – a bit of sewing, a bit of gardening, eating well and catching up with friends along the way.

Q9. Which 3 people from anytime in history would you like to share a meal with? A: I’d like to share dinner with 3colonial-Australian women to understand what it was really  like for them – one indigenous, one convict and one volunteer.

Q10. Where would you go on your dream vacation? A: A long, well-funded one where we went somewhere, stayed a while, then went somewhere else that looked interesting and kept doing that until we wanted to come home.

Q11. If you could have a superpower, what would it be? A: To take away the suffering of good people. I hate feeling unable to help someone who is a wonderful person and who doesn’t seem to deserve the stress or pain they are experiencing.

Back to my feather quilting tomorrow…

Bert.

PS: You’ll find my answers to Elisabeth’s questions in an earlier post: Liebster 1 QnA Games, and a bit more background about me on my About page.

 

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in bert, bert collections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Liebster 2 QnA Games – did you also wonder about…

  1. Elisabeth says:

    My guess: a 3 dimensional cube, but it does not look like foundation piecing. Thanks for the links!

    • Yes, it’s a variation on tumbling blocks and you are right but…it’s also my first ever quilt! You are right, not only no foundation piecing, but poly-cottons as well so it stretched into the bargain 🙂

      • Elisabeth says:

        Hi Bert, I looked close again. Congrats, great result for a first quilt and beautiful colour composition. Happy Quilting!

  2. Pingback: PP2 – Feather Panels! | bertcollections

Leave a Reply

