SQ1 – Dianne Firth How I Quilt

20130303-090336.jpgYesterday I had a lovely day, here’s why – I took a drive to Goulburn with some quilting friends to listen to a presentation from Dianne Firth entitled ‘Why I Quilt’. What luxury.

I took so many notes that I am going to do a couple of posts on this because I love Dianne’s quilts and style and having now met her I know there is an amazing person behind those spectacular quilts.

I thought I would start with how Dianne quilts as I find the process of creating something quite fascinating. By way of background it is interesting to note that Dianne is a landscape architect and mother as well as a prolific quilter who has, and continues to carefully combine these loves on a daily basis.

You may also be pleased to know that Dianne’s quilts are made on the dining room table with the domestic quilting/sewing machine that she bought in 1993. So you do not necessarily need huge space or expensive new machines to do stunning work. 👍

So how does Dianne make her quilts. First of all she says “I am very methodical. I work on dining room table from 8pm to 1 or 2 am. Then I pack everything away.” Before making a full quilt or section, Dianne also makes a little prototype to trial a technique and keeps these ‘minis’ for future reference and display. You can see the deliberate method in the results.

Next time I will talk some more about the breakthroughs in Dianne’s quilting style. In the meantime, you can read the official biography from Dianne’s latest exhibition.

Off to work or rather play with a challenge block for the local show,

Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in Dianne Firth, modern quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SQ1 – Dianne Firth How I Quilt

  1. Wow lovely quilt, I had not heard of her before but liked the idea of a prototype because sometimes you like a block but hate making it.

  2. Pingback: SQ2 – Dianne Firth Break-throughs | bertcollections

  3. Pingback: Great Photos from a Community of Quilters | bertcollections

Leave a Reply

