PP4 – When is a Square not a Square?

20130615-183114.jpg

Well I had a laugh at my own expense several times last weekend… I decided the previous week that the PP quilt was not ‘hug me’ quilt size that is, it wasn’t large enough to wrap yourself cozily warm inside it with a bit left over for good measure so – time for more borders. In case you were wondering, my definition of hug me size is 52” wide or more, and for a larger person generously more than that. There’s no point having a quilt that’s not big enough to wrap yourself in (which my grandfather confirmed when I made him a lap quilt and his reponse was “what do I do with that?”). So now that I’ve given my lecture for the day, back to my foibles.

Having decided on extra borders, off I went to the craft shop for some extra fabric, pink, gold and burgundy and some matching thread for quilting. Pleased with myself I headed home, cut my border pieces to size. It’s a square quilt with mitred borders so I cut all the pieces the same length – right? Wrong! Well, kind of. I centred the top and bottom borders only to discover that if I did the other pieces the same way there not going to be enough fabric left over for the last side of the border. Fixed that, tried not to repeat the mistake.

I must say I think I am getting the hang of these mitred joins having now done many of them in this quilt. With a bit of practice and some masking tape they are not as scary as they seem (that’s a post for another day).

So back to my foibles. I finish the borders, lay the quilt out on the floor feeling very pleased with myself and then recover the backing fabric from the draw. Guess what – too small!. With the extra borders the queen size sheet for the backing is not wide enough. Never fear Bert says, I’ll add some pieces in the centre, so I add a pink tyre stipe to the middle of the backing and all is good…only now I’ve used the piece of fabric I had for the binding, so back to the fabric shop to replace that too.

Having sorted out the backing I happily ventured back into the cupboard, pulled out the wadding I had set aside, layed it on top to check it fitted and, you guessed it – it’s too small now as well. So, later in the week, I drag my collegues to the quilt shop on the way back from a team lunch, get some more fabric, some more wadding and thread for stitching in the ditch which I also figured out was the wrong colour, and spend the evening layering and pinning the pernickerty purposefully pink quilt.

Even after a bit of fuss, I’m happy with how this is looking, so tomorrow the quilting adventure starts.

20130615-173419.jpg The sun is sneaking back behind the range as I type so it must be time to get the fire going, check on Mr R’s shed activities and find myself a glass of wine.

Happy stitching,

Bert

PS: And by the way, the answer to the question of when is a square not a square – is when it sends you round in circles 🙂

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in Bert Quilts, borders, PP, Purposefully Pink, quilt, quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

