Aha! That’s right…

IMG_2180 - fix this cornerI found a few things today which you might find handy too…

One curio I found was this photo and I am wondering, oh quilt bloggers and readers, “how do you keep track of where you are up to or what needs to be done next?”

Here’s my ‘system’: Like many of you, I usually have several projects on the go, and it can get confusing when you restart work on one after a bit of a break. I keep a note book of what I’ve done and what I’m planning a quilt to look like. As importantly, anywhere there is a mistake or something I’m not happy with I pin notes like the one in photo today. The note goes right on the spot where the problem is. I can’t be certain, but I’m pretty sure that the note trick came about from forgetting where I was up to and sewing in a problem that should have been fixed a while ago – it must have been traumatic because I’ve wiped from my memory which quilt it was:-). So what’s your tracking/reminding system like? I’m sure there are some clever cookies out there with disaster averting plans like these, so what are they?

I’ve also rediscovered some draft posts that need some photos (and they should be very useful ones on feather quilting, and mitres and things)…it seems that it’s a ‘fix this’ day today.

Upside is that there’s lots of good things to come so watch out for the new posts with lots of pictures.

Bert

PS: For the regulars, I didn’t get the PhD scholarship I was after, but I’m looking at some other options so who knows what might happen for 2014.

PS2: And in case you missed it, I’ve started, well, yes, another quilt. It’s for one of my favourite people I promise – the story starts here.

.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in PP, quilt, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aha! That’s right…

  1. totally pin notes to places or use clothespins if a not is to much bother.

Leave a Reply

