PP6 – How to Get Ready to Quilt

Here’s a little video (watch for the dog at the end) and a matching list of all the things I do before I start quilting – would you add anything else to your preparations?  When I got ready to quilt PP the other day I even went through my whole list before I got going. See I do take my own advice as well. 😛

Just for kicks, at the end of the post is some podcasts you might be interested in too…

 Checklist for Getting Ready to Quilt

Note: This list is for when you already have a quilt sandwich ready to go – check out , my how to layer the quilt sandwich guide if you want to know more about that. So here goes…

* Vacuum the table, the floor, the machine and the bobbin

* Wind a few bobbins so you don’t have to stop

* Put in a new needle

* Attach the right foot (walking or free motion)

* Do a test piece to get tension, stitch length and stitch type right and the quilting pattern if you are doing free motion (and write the settings down in your quilting journal).

* Set up a side table to hold the weight of the quilt if it is a large one

* Pour yourself a drink

* Put on a podcast or some music

* Roll your quilt, put on your quilting gloves, sit comfortably, start your engine…and you are off making your way down the straight before hitting that first corner, shifting gear, sailing on and having a great time.

If there’s a mechanical failure part way through, take your quilt out, the machine into the pits and refer to the machine trouble-shooting guide to get it back on the track with minimal loss of time.

Happy stitching,

Bert

PS: I was listening to ABCs Big Ideas podcasts last week in Ideas that changed the world, Who do you think I am, and Can we feed 9 billion by 2050. This week I think it’ll be CSIROpod.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in Bert Quilts, Pink, PP, Purposefully Pink, quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to PP6 – How to Get Ready to Quilt

  1. dweinberg415 says:

    Thank you for this! Very helpful.

  2. zippyquilts says:

    Nice list! Thought I was going to have to add “pour yourself a glass of wine”, but I see you’ve got that covered 😉

    • LoL! Certainly wine is an option and I have tried it. While it’s good for morale I find it doesn’t help much with the concentration or accuracy so I usually stick with a cup of tea instead. Maybe I just need to find a wine-y design to practice. 😉What do you think?

  3. Pingback: Getting Started with a Quilting Frame | bertcollections

Leave a Reply

