QE6- Quilters Escape – Katoomba and Leura

Sunday started well with a walk down valley view road. There were bower birds, bell birds and other things I could not recognise. I thought the tyre swing here was very cute.

20131117-135341.jpg

The weather gods were not on our side as we headed out to the scenic railway and echo point and the Everglades gardens – the fog came in and whited out the view so we headed over to the stitching post at Katoomba for more fabric and morning tea.

Next we headed to Leura for some lunch and shopping. First stop was the lovely Picklemouse House where I am always tempted to buy panels but got some fabric for appliqué bears instead this time.

Given we had nearly two hours, I found a lovely spot on the verandah for lunch and a few pages of my book. I got my times confused and ended up back at the bus am hour early so headed out again to check out the local gardens. Since I was on a roll I followed the signs down to the Leura cascades and noting I had only 30 minutes left I not-footed it back up the path and the hill and somehow got back with fifteen minutes to spare. And the my quilting buddies were surprised that I was red in the face and jumper-less by the time I got back to the bus!

Time to put the feet up for a rest!

Bert

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in Blue Mountains 2013, Katoomba, Quilting Trips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

