TM4 – wheels on the bus

20131217-180131.jpg
Today’s trip home on the bus was for stitching my tentmaker panel as i have run out of scraps for my hexagons.

What was curious about the journey was that as 3 teenage boys sat chattering about skating and football near by. As they chatted i realised that if they were in Cairo they could be accomplished tent makers by this age and yet here they were working at the local supermarket. Odd unexpected contrast of cultures.

Curious.

E

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in applique, bright, Tentmakers of Cairo, TM and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TM4 – wheels on the bus

  1. Mary says:

    Your tentmaker panel is beautiful! And it looks Christmassy…

    • Yes it does look Christmassy at the moment. It seems a couple of my class-pieces from 2013 unexpectedly got a Christmas look. The tile play one has that style as well.

      We’ll see if the soft pink needed to finish the tent maker panel makes it change style again…

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Bert

  2. Kim Beamish says:

    You should take a look at our site http://www.tentmakersofcairo.com and see some of the footage we have up of 12 year old Ahmed Ekramy being taught by his father. Well done your piece it is looking great.

    Cheers.

    Kim Beamish
    Producer
    The Tentmakers of Chareh El Khiamiah

    • Thanks Kim, I’ll look that up. I had forgotten about the TV show – that must be a fabulous project to be working on.

      I have some photos from the class I did in Canberra which might be a good addition to your link collection when I get them done too. Work in progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

