QE8 – Quilters’ Escape Penrith

After staying in Penrith overnight, I snuck out early to meet some local friends. It was a lovely way to start the day with a walk by the Nepean River followed by waffles and coffee for breakfast (sounds very American doesn’t it ;-).

I rejoined the quilters crew at Folklore aka Penrith Patchwork. This was a great big shop with a huge collection of fabrics at good prices. Definitely worth a look. I was tempted to buy a fabric die cutter to help with our community quilts but looking at the prices of the dies, I decided we can wait a few more years.

After getting a little fabric and a few scraps to put into my grannys garden scrap collection, we headed out for the highway again and I did some more stitching on my tentmaker panel (shown above). It was probably just as well that we were back on the road – I think we were getting rather shopping fatigued and I hadn’t got enough sewing done yet anyway.

While it’d been a fun trip it was a good feeling to know I’d be sleeping in my own bed that night.

Next stop and next post – Southern Highlands

Bert

PS: If you want to read about this quilters escape posts in order – use the category or read all the posts that start with ‘QE’ starting with number 1.

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

