Snowflake Table Decoration

I was inspired by LucieTheHappyQuilter’s dresden snowflake (http://luciethehappyquilter.com/tag/dresden-plate/) to have a go at making one myself over the holidays. Here is the result, now happily decorating our side table.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/374/22497471/files/2015/01/img_0618.jpg

I turned this into a table mat by pinning the dresden plate (minus the centre circle) onto felt, stitching around the outside and then trimming the felt to match the snowflake with my favourite sharp pointy scissors. Yes, there is a join in the felt as I had two small pieces and had to patch them together to fit the snowflake 😉

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/374/22497471/files/2015/01/img_0617.jpg

I am new to dresden plate and to appliqué of circles so it took me a couple of attempts to get the centre circle right. Once I found Sarah Fielke’s video on perfect circles and cut the centre circle bigger it was easy.

I put a matching circle of viseoflix between the fabric and the cardboard when ironing the circle, then took the viseoflix paper off once I was happy with the shape of the circle ( this will make sense when you watch the video). The viseoflix made it easier to fiddle the circle to the centre of the dresden plate then iron it into place and sew without fear of anything moving while I as sewing.

So thanks to Lucie and Sarah for a fun holiday project, I’ll get back to my finish it up pile now 🙂

About bertcollections

I began quilting, with the help of some friends, in 2005, and have been quilting ever since. In that time, I’ve completed several projects in a variety of styles and colour combinations. My approach to quilting generally doesn’t involve using a particular pattern. I tend to have a concept I want to bring to life, or find a fabric on sale somewhere that looks like it could be turned into something fun. As the photos in the 'Introductions' post show, my quilts cross a range of styles, but generally use some strong colours and shapes.
This entry was posted in Dresden Plate, Red, White and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Snowflake Table Decoration

  1. Your Snowflake looks fab. I love the way you backed it and turned it into a shaped tale centre. It’s amazing how inspiration goes around. Well done you.

  2. Pingback: GETTING BACK TO NORMAL | Lucie The Happy Quilter's Blog

  3. What a lovely table centre piece, a great variation on a dresden plate.

  4. zippyquilts says:

    Beautiful, and gives me an idea for those Christmas ties I hate 😀

  5. Sherry Duva says:

    thank you that seams much easier than the way I was doing it, thank you again

Leave a Reply

